acepuppets

Enjoying Being the Best We Can Be Through – Puppets, Drama and Talking!

Posted on: April 23, 2013


I chose this phrase because I wanted to get the message across that I had a multisensory approach to developing learning and communication skills that would eventually lead to smooth progression into reading.

I approached my son’s language development with my philosophy in mind and spent all day talking to him and playing imaginative games based on stories we had read.  His grandparents also talked to him in the way that grandparents do – best source of heuristic play and introduction to stories.

Basically my son has heard a commentary of his life and been posed hundreds of questions since he could focus his eyes.  I have just got into a habit of talking and singing to him as well as pulling faces and making silly noises.

I am very pleased that his communication skills are great; he speaks clearly with a good vocabulary and sentence structure, he can tell stories with enthusiasm, his comprehension skills are good and his desire to ask questions is phenomenal.  He is also showing pre reading skills and can spell simple three letter words such as, ‘cat’ and ‘dog’.  So I am very pleased that he has taken on board everything we have been doing.

However, he does not stop talking from the minute he gets up to just before he goes to sleep.  He talks to me on the way to and from nursery, in the playground, in the house, when we go for walks, when we are reading books and he asks very interesting questions about who made us, ‘humans’ and why roofs are pointed or this bit of pavement is a different colour or texture.  I sometimes feel as if I am in the middle of Mastermind under pressure to answer so many questions – if I don’t answer straight away he gets impatient and tells me off for not listening and if the answer is unsatisfactory he keeps asking until he is either satisfied or I turn the tables on him and ask him what he thinks the answer is.

Sometimes I ask him to stop asking questions but he says that he likes to ask questions.  I asked him why and his answer was that I ask lots of questions. 

Provoking curiosity in a child is the best way to keep them interested in learning, allowing them to explore the world about them secure in the knowledge that you will keep them safe gives them confidence and being able to imagine that the world is magical gives children the ability to plan ideas in their head.

It seems with children that you need to model the skills that you want them to learn so that they can copy your example and practise good communication skills with other humans, invisible friends, school friends, teddies and any adult who says hello to them when you visit the shop.

Leave a Reply

Hey I’m on Mumsnet!!

mumsnet bloggers network

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 250 other followers

Calendar

April 2013
M T W T F S S
« Mar    
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728
2930  
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 250 other followers

