acepuppets

What A Performance!!

Posted on: March 5, 2012


When I used to watch the credits of children’s programmes I was always surprised at the number of people involved in enabling a twenty minute production to take place.  After writing and producing my own puppet shows I realise exactly why so many people are involved.

You would expect a twenty five minute puppet show to take twenty five minutes to organise, but no that is not the case for me. In order for puppet shows to be written, rehearsed, tweaked and be ready to be shared with an audience it takes me just over a year.

  • This is partially due to time restrictions – I have to spend time with my own child and nurture and teach him bad habits and all of that.
  • Secondly the show has to be written as a story first to give the whole idea structure.
  • Thirdly the story has to be adapted to be a script – all of my scripts are written with just two characters speaking at one time because I only have two hands.
  • Fourthly I have to read through the script to improve its comfort level.
  • Next I have to produce the accompanying sound track so that the performance has sounds, music and remains tight.
  • Then I have to alter the script to fit in with puppet changes.
  • A number of rehearsals take place.
  • I dream about the show for weeks and practise in my sleep.
  • Details of the puppet show is put on the website and on leaflets.
  • After every performance the script and show is reviewed and improved for next time.

I also have to make sure that my hands don’t get too hot during a performance because it makes it more difficult to put the puppets on quickly.  I write a script so that I can ad-lib and alter the show to suit the audiences needs.  Every performance is different and requires unique rehearsing – if the show is for a boy’s party I tend to focus on the insects and monsters and focus on the princess and fairy for a girl’s show.  You only have to attend a party where the children are dressed up – the girls are dressed in pink and sequins while the boys tend to wear costumes of many different colours.  Most girls dream of being a princess while boys want to be super heroes.

And being chief, cook and bottle-washer in Acepuppets the only name on the credits is mine – and boy the satisfaction and credit of a successful performance is completely down to me and I thoroughly enjoy claiming all of the credit for my work!!

Leave a Reply

