acepuppets

Why Teenagers Need To Give Their Parents Hell!

Posted on: January 28, 2016


i_will_find_my_parents_by_saya_loura-d7c6tka

I gave my parents a hard time and they gave their parents a hard time – I can guarantee that I will lock horns with my son as soon as he becomes a teenager.  All I can do at the moment is to give him a good grounding so that he can deal with the emotional coaster of being a teenager.  We bring our children up to be independent and have their own thoughts only to try to stifle the results of our training when they become teenagers.  I think parents are programmed to be stick in the muds and teenagers become bulldozers with the goal of knocking any boundaries down.

Unrequited Love

I am not a parent of a teenager yet but I vaguely remember that being one was quite bitter sweet. Life seemed to be a constant battle between concentrating on my exams and coping with unrequited love.  When you finally get to have a boyfriend you never think you are going to love anyone like that again and you are mortified when it ends. The truth is that you never will because next time that love is diluted a little with wariness and reality.  Like a toddler discovering the world, a teenager is discovering adulthood and everything is in technicolour.

Rebellion

I remember my hormones raging, slamming doors a lot and spending hours in the bath so I could spend time on my own.  I didn’t hang around the streets but had plenty of friends to be a teenager with.  We didn’t try to conform to adulthood but we thought that we had the moral high ground – which was true because we hadn’t had chance to make big mistakes yet to discover our humanity. Some of my friends rebelled in big ways while others pushed the boundaries more subtly. I tended to not tell my parents where I was going and did what I wanted – well as much as my limited finances would allow.

Parents Aren’t That Stupid After All

Being a teenager and a young adult is all about taking risks and causing your parents to be continuously worried about your safety.  If your relationship with your parents is pretty stable the rebellion eventually subsides. Once you discover that they weren’t that bad after all you have your own ideas and combine the both so that you can prepare your own child for rebellion.

Teenage Shelters

The biggest issue with feisty teenagers is that they don’t really have anywhere to go to hang out. This predicament results in them making the street look untidy and getting into trouble. Playdale playgrounds discusses this issue in an article. They have referred to studies that have found a marked reduction in teenage disruption when teenage shelters were installed near recreational areas. Teenage shelters are essentially a collection of seats covered by a roof. This means that teenagers can still have a meeting place, away from boring adults, without getting too wet.

Being a teenager is not always easy and neither is being the parent of one but being part of your child’s next adventure is exciting.

Leave a Reply

