acepuppets

‘The signing of the Magna Carta in June 1215 Limited the Power of the Monkey’

Posted on: October 29, 2012


Apparently children will learn facts at different ages, just as they did in the past, in order to enhance their educational ability.

The nearest targets for my son, who is three, are the ones for five year olds and they are as follows;

  • ‘Learn favourite nursery rhymes by heart, such as Baa Baa Black Sheep.’
  • ‘Identify 1/2 as one of two equal parts.’
  • ‘Understand that the signing of the Magna Carta in June 1215 restricted the powers of the monarchy.

Now my son can tick off the first and second targets because he enjoys singing nursery rhymes all of the time and knows that cutting chocolate cake in half means that there are two pieces.

Well I have to admit to only knowing about the Magna Carta from an old joke I heard years ago.

‘Where was the magna Carta signed? … At the bottom.’

This is something that I will have to research during the next two years, however I decided that it would be a good idea to introduce the fact to him now, after all there is no time like the present.  My son was a willing participant in my tutoring and humoured me by repeating the facts after me in the way that little children copy the sounds of words they don’t understand rather than the words themselves causing the word Monarch to become monkey.

‘The signing of the Magna Carta in June 1215 Limited the Power of the Monkey’

I am so looking forward to watching my son learn interesting pieces of information and how he interprets it.

Leave a Reply

